Local, Politics

“Next Federal Government must act on climate change” – Australian mayors

Bellingen mayor Dominic King has joined 14 other mayors across the country in calling on the next federal government to take swift action to tackle climate change.

Dominic King

In in a joint statement released today by the Cities Power Partnership, Australia’s largest local government climate alliance demanded more federal support for local work on climate change, commitment to a national 100 per cent renewable energy target and rapid phase out of fossil fuel subsidies.

Mayor Dominic King (pictured above) said that progressive communities such as Bellingen have been driving local renewable energy uptake, but with national support they could do much more.

“Bellingen Shire has always been ahead of the curve when it comes to tackling climate change – and now it’s time for our national leaders to catch up,” he said.

“We call on the next federal government to ensure that local governments are adequately resourced to tackle climate change, and to commit to credible national climate policy that facilitates a swift transition to 100 per cent renewables and phase out of fossil fuel subsidies.”

“The mayors I stand with today are firmly committed to developing regional climate solutions for their communities – but we need national resources and support to do it.”

Climate Councillor Professor Tim Flannery said that the next federal government must act swiftly to avert a climate crisis – and that means supporting local solutions.

” Australia is not on track to meet its greenhouse gas pollution targets, and without decisive action we’re speeding rapidly towards a climate crisis,” he said.

“Mayors are making a stand to demand that our next Federal leaders commit to meaningful action on climate change – and that means switching to renewable energy and ending subsidies for the dirty coal and gas industries that are putting our communities at risk of serious climate damage.”


Cr Clover Moore, Lord Mayor, City of Sydney

Cr Michael Lyon, Acting Mayor, Byron Shire Council

Cr Julia Leu, Mayor Douglas Shire Council

Cr Dominic King, Mayor Bellingen Council

Cr Amanda McLaren, Mayor Strathbogie Council

Cr Frank Wilkie, Acting Mayor, Noosa Council

Cr Ken Keith OAM, Mayor, Parkes Shire Council

Cr Darcy Byrne, Inner West Council

Cr Kathy Neilson, Mayor of Randwick Council

Cr Pam Townshend, Shire President, Augusta Margaret River, WA

Cr David Gill , Mayor Mornington Peninsula Mayor, VIC

Cr Renée McLennan, Mayor, Town of Bassendean

Cr Ann Ferguson, Mayor, Mount Barker

Cr Natalie Abboud, Mayor, Moreland City Council

Cr Jerome Laxale, Mayor, City of Ryde

First published at The Bellingen Courier-Sun. Wednesday 7 May 2019.

See: https://www.bellingencourier.com.au/story/6112296/australian-mayors-demand-climate-action-from-next-federal-government

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *